Revolutionary Love


Published 2021-01-26 06:00

The transcendent new album from Ani DiFranco, "Revolutionary Love", out January 29th, 2021, marks the latest proof of one of her most powerful gifts as an artist, a rare ability to give voice to our deepest frustrations and tensions, on both a personal and political level. Produced by DiFranco and recorded mainly in 2 whirlwind days at Overdub Lane in Durham, "Revolutionary Love" more than justifies the mad dash behind its making.

Rooted in her poetic lyricism and ever commanding vocal work, the album unfolds in an understated, yet captivating alchemy of folk and soul and lushly textured jazz pop. As her 1st studio effort since the release of "No Walls And The Recurring Dream", DiFranco's widely praised 2019 memoir, "Revolutionary Love" arrives as an instantly transportive selection of songs.

In sculpting that sound, DiFranco and Brad Cook assembled an eclectic lineup of musicians, including percussionist Brevan Hampden, horn and flute player Matt Douglas, keyboardist Phil Cook, drummer Yan Westerlund, and Di Franco's longtime touring band Terence Higgins on percussion and Todd Sickafoose on bass.

More about Ani DiFranco