Peace Like A River


Published 2023-05-27 06:00

Gov't Mule just announced that their newest studio offering, "Peace Like A River" will be released on June 16th, 2023, via Fantasy Records and, in celebration, shared "Dreaming Out Loud", the 1st taste of the project featuring Ivan Neville and Ruthie Foster. On the riveting new track, Grammy award winning vocalist, songwriter, guitar icon, and producer Warren Haynes utilized iconic quotes from Dr Martin Luther King Jr, Robert and John Kennedy, and the late civil rights leader and US Representative John Lewis.

"Peace Like A River" marks the band's 12th studio album and follow up to their chart topping blues album, "Heavy Load Blues". The 12 track collection of rock features guest appearances from Billy Bob Thornton, Celisse, and Billy F Gibbons.

"'Peace Like A River' is very ambitious from a musical arrangement standpoint in the way that a lot of the songs take twists and turns that is not common in today's pop music world", Haynes says. "At the same time, it's very much a song record and covers a lot of ground, stylistically speaking. Song for song maybe my favorite one".

The album explores many qualities of Gov't Mule's individual players Haynes (guitar, vocals), Matt Abts (drums), Danny Louis (keyboards, guitar, backing vocals), and Jorgen Carlsson (bass), while continuing to explore their signature sound and reinforce the stature they've earned over their years of playing. Notably, "Peace Like A River" was recorded during the same sessions as "Heavy Load Blues" at The Power Station New England with co-producer John Paterno with Haynes; however, they were created in separate rooms and with different gear to further their distinct characters.